PDA

View Full Version : Safety clone "shared users and applications"


camner
05-18-2005, 02:34 AM
I'm making my first Safety Clone, and as I watched the SC being made, I noticed that the folder /Documents/etc... was being copied.

I guess I don't really understand what is copied during the Safety Clone process and what is shared.

Is /Documents/etc.. being copied because it is the root Document folder rather than a users document folder?

Does "shared users and applications" mean that the entire source disk, other than the various users folder and the /Applications folder is copied?

dnanian
05-18-2005, 10:52 AM
That's right. /Documents isn't a user folder, so it's not shared.

If you examine the script itself, you can see what's being shared and what's being copied, and you can create your own should you want to share more.

In general, as described in the WGTH? section, all Apple applications as well as non-User files (files outside /Users) are copied.

camner
05-18-2005, 12:10 PM
I don't want to be stupid here, but I didn't find a WGTH? section in the User's Guide.

OK, so I'm stupid....a search of this forum turned up the fact that WGTH? stand for "What's Going to Happen?". How about a FAQ to that effect so future neophytes don't get stumped by something so simple? (Not a criticism...only a suggestion)

dnanian
05-18-2005, 12:25 PM
My own fault. I should fully type everything out and not take shortcuts unless I've previously defined something in a post. Sorry.