PDA

View Full Version : newbie question - SD & Time Machine


AlVT
03-12-2008, 01:40 PM
I read "How do I store a bootable backup side-by-side with my Time Machine data?" in the FAQ but it's still not clear to me if I can have a bootable clone from SD and a time machine backup on the same partition of an external drive. Is this possible?
Thanks,
Al

dnanian
03-12-2008, 02:11 PM
Yes, as long as the drive is properly partitioned for your Mac (even as one large partition).

AlVT
03-12-2008, 02:21 PM
Thanks! I appreciate the fast reply.
Al

gcoghill
03-12-2008, 04:58 PM
If I am configuring both Time Machine and Super Duper for initial backups, can they be run simultaneously, or should one be run completely first? And if so, which?

dnanian
03-12-2008, 05:04 PM
It doesn't matter.

gcoghill
03-12-2008, 05:34 PM
OK cool. I ask because I just did that (ran SD & TM at the same time) and the SD ended the process saying the backup could not be made bootable.

I made sure to partition the drive as GUID for the Intel MacBook, and the external is connected via Firewire. Any thoughts? It's also a paid copy, I had my friend buy a license.

dnanian
03-12-2008, 05:43 PM
I'd need to see the log to comment: you can send it to me with the "Send to shirt pocket" button.

gcoghill
03-12-2008, 10:59 PM
I just sent the log via the SD software. Having problems with the external drive no longer mounting as well.

dnanian
03-13-2008, 01:31 AM
I replied to the email (the external drive was having a ton of physical problems)