PDA

View Full Version : Restoring from clone + Time Machine


badlydrawnboy
03-04-2008, 10:20 AM
Dave,

I'm having a lot of system freezes and application crashes. I'd like to restore from my last system clone two days ago, but there are files I've created or modified during that time that I don't want to lose. I also have hourly TM backups for that period.

If I restore from the clone, is there some way of using TM to recover only the files from that two day period that would be lost? Another question is, how will TM "react" to the system all of a sudden being two days older? Would that cause a problem?

badlydrawnboy
03-04-2008, 10:33 AM
Dave,

I forgot to mention that it's the Sandbox I've been having problems on. So, I booted into my full volume, erased the Sandbox, re-created it and then rebooted from the Sandbox. Still having problems on the Sandbox, so now I'm thinking that the problem may be with the full volume.

I suppose I could try booting from the full volume and running from that for a few days to see if I have any problems. I haven't done that yet.

This is super frustrating since this Mac is only a few weeks old and I did a full clean install with manual installation of apps and manual migration of data to avoid having problems like this.

EDIT: Dave, I just read your sticky on the prebindings problems some are experiencing with clones. Is it possible that the same problems would occur with a Sandbox? If so, is there some way I could use that script as a login item or start-up routine to prevent the problems I'm experiencing?

dnanian
03-04-2008, 11:39 AM
Try running the fix script in the thread when creating your Sandbox. Doesn't have to be a login item.