PDA

View Full Version : SuperDuper for Time Capsule


egordin
02-29-2008, 05:21 PM
Now I realize that most people (like me) don't have one of these in their hands quite yet, but I wanted to post this question now that the first couple reviews are out.

Since Time Machine does not recognize a previous (directly connected) Time Machine external drive once it's connected to a Time Capsule (http://www.engadget.com/2008/02/29/time-capsule-first-impressions/), I was wondering if it was possible to somehow SuperDuper a Time Machine backup onto a Time Capsule drive once it's recognized by Time Machine.

Wow, that's extremely convoluted. I'm sorry. I hope its relatively understandable.

What I mean is:

Can I take my Time Machine external drive and use SuperDuper to copy its contents to my Time Capsule?

dnanian
02-29-2008, 05:25 PM
No: it won't work.

loosegroove
03-01-2008, 09:20 AM
Dave:

Do you have any knowledge if SD will be able to make backups to a Time Capsule drive by normal copying or will it make a sparse image like when you backup to other network drives?

Thanks!

--
Bronson

dnanian
03-01-2008, 09:40 AM
It's definitely going to have to make a sparse image (as does Time Machine).