PDA

View Full Version : Odd error mesage


RichardI
02-25-2008, 12:15 PM
Hi all. Newbie here. I've had SuperDuper! ever since I bought my iMac and it has worked perfectly until I got Leopard. I have an Iomega external 750 Gb. hard drive connected via FireWire800. I waited for the update for Leopard, installed it and immediately did a complete backup. Now I just use Smart Update and it seems to work fine except for one thing. Every time I perform an incremental backup, I get an error message telling me that SuperDuper! terminated unexpectantly, but no other apps have been effected. As near as I can tell, everything worked fine, but I'm not really sure. How can I check to be sure my backup is OK?

Thanks,

Rich :cool:

dnanian
02-25-2008, 12:35 PM
Are you using a Logitech mouse, Rich?

RichardI
02-25-2008, 04:22 PM
Why, yes, I am. Along with Logitech Control Center. Is that the cause of these error messages? Wow, that really is odd.:p
Anyway, yes I use a Logitech mouse - an MX-620 cordless.

Rich :cool:

dnanian
02-25-2008, 04:50 PM
Yes, it's LCC. If you configure your "On successful completion" option to "Do Nothing", that'll resolve the issue.

RichardI
02-25-2008, 05:26 PM
OK, thanks Dave. I like being able to walk away from my Mac after starting the backup, so I purchased Steer Mouse and uninstalled LCC. SteerMouse works great and doesn't interfere with SuperDuper!

Rich :cool:

RichardI
02-26-2008, 07:19 AM
One more thing. I don't regret buying SteerMouse, but it didn't work either. I uninstalled the LCC using Forklift, installed SteerMouse, set up preferences, etc., then re-booted. Then I did a new backup. Same error message. For now I'll take your advice and change my prefs to "do nothing" after a backup. My Mac will sleep on it's own. If this little issue gets fixed, I'd like to know though.

Thanks again,

Rich :cool:

dnanian
02-26-2008, 10:22 AM
I think it's likely if you didn't use Logitech's own uninstaller, parts of LCC are still present.

RichardI
02-26-2008, 02:28 PM
Yep, right again Dave. Used the uninstaller and problem solved. Thanks again.
(SteerMouse is better than LCC, IMO anyway)

Rich :cool: