PDA

View Full Version : leopard install


bcphoto
02-22-2008, 04:19 AM
I used superduper to copy my harddrive to a new 320 gig and now would like to install leopard. Leopard won't let me install on that drive. It says I have to wipe out that drive by repartioning before it installs. I don't have any partions and don't want to have to reinstall everything. Any ideas?

bharoche
02-22-2008, 10:39 AM
Do you have room to partition your external drive into two partitions and then re-clone your Tiger hard drive (I assume you currently have Tiger) to one of the external partitions? If so, you could do that, and make sure that partition is bootable. Next upgrade your internal drive to Leopard. Then clone that drive to the second external partition. Make sure that partition is bootable. Then use SD to clone the first Tiger external partition back to your internal drive.

You'll end up with Tiger on your internal (as now), a Tiger external partition, and a Leopard external partition.

There may be a simpler method but this is what I did when I wanted to play with Leopard on an external drive.

dnanian
02-22-2008, 11:44 AM
You actually do have a partition: you have one partition. You'll need to repartition as "GUID" if you want to install Leopard on the drive. You can do this by erasing the drive with Disk Utility (and using the "Options" button in the Partition tab), or by using iPartition to do it "live".