PDA

View Full Version : strange cloned external drive behavior


doogles
02-20-2008, 03:32 PM
Hi -

I am experiencing a strange problem. I have a new iMac (osx 10.5.2) and two external hard drives called "Primary HD" and "Backup HD". The Primary HD is used to store all of my project files (but not my system software or applications). The Backup HD is a clone of the Primary HD (made using Superduper). Both drives are mounted and appear on the desktop at startup.

Under "PLACES" in the Sidebar of a typical Finder window, I have made Shortcuts to several of the folders on the Primary HD. For example, when clicking on Get Info for "Folder 1" under PLACES, the following location is indicated:

/Volumes/Primary HD/

Here's the problem. When I restart (or startup) the computer, these Shortcuts have ALL been somehow changed to the Backup HD. That is, when clicking Get Info for "Folder 1", under PLACES, the following location is indicated after restart:

/Volumes/Backup HD/

Even after going through and manually reestablishing the shortcuts, the problem occurs again after restarting the computer!

This happens whether or not I have run SuperDuper before a restart or startup. It may be occurring at the OS level, but I'm not certain.

This is really aggravating, and potentially devastating.

Any ideas?

THANKS -

Doug

iMac / aluminum / 2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo Mac OS X (10.5.2)

dnanian
02-20-2008, 04:49 PM
We've seen a number of weird things with the sidebar, regardless of the "presence" of SD!, Doug, so I don't think this is related to SD! at all.

doogles
02-21-2008, 10:42 AM
Thanks for the response -

I think you may be right. This morning I started my computer and had the same problem. But then I tried ejecting (un-mounting) the "Backup HD" drive, and immediately all of the shortcuts changed from a file path leading to the "Backup HD" to a file path leading to the "Primary HD".

How weird is that!?

Any suggestions?

dnanian
02-21-2008, 11:19 AM
I can only suggest that you report the behavior to Apple...

vannbaker
08-11-2008, 12:12 PM
I've had the same issue and it seems to have popped up in the last few weeks (that I can verify).

Has anyone learned anything from Apple about this?

dnanian
08-11-2008, 01:22 PM
I haven't, no -- and it's not something I've seen here. (We really just copy the data, and don't interpret or change it in any way.)