PDA

View Full Version : TM (spurious?) errors after SD smart update


geeniusatwrok
02-20-2008, 11:42 AM
Typically after SD does its smart update to my external (which also holds my TM backup), TM shows a "!" in the menu bar and says "Delayed" in the menu. If I go to TM prefs and reset the TM drive, then it's happy and does an immediate backup. I've had to do this a coupla times now.

It seems happy after I reset the TM drive.

dnanian
02-20-2008, 12:09 PM
It's going to delay while we're doing a copy...

geeniusatwrok
02-20-2008, 01:13 PM
I meant that TM reports "Delayed" well after the SD smart update has completed. In addition TM will often forget the TM drive despite it being plainly mounted and ready until I point it back to that drive.

could be a weird TM issue... the 10.5.2 version seems pretty shaky.

dnanian
02-20-2008, 02:19 PM
That I haven't seen, no. Does the "delay" have any other explanation, or new targeted backup time?

geeniusatwrok
02-20-2008, 06:23 PM
There's no explanation (and if there is a TM log, I don't know how to find it). If I go to the TM pref panel, the "oldest backup" is "--"

SD finished its smart update over an hour ago.

As I said, once I reset the target TM drive, everything is OK until the next SD run.

If it happens again I will try to remember to click the red "i" in the pref panel because I think it will show some sort of description of the problem.

here's some pics:

geeniusatwrok
02-25-2008, 05:16 PM
Still having this issue... TM forgets the backup volume: "The backup volume could not be found" even though it's mounted and ready. Resetting the backup volume works until the next SD backup is run, then TM forgets again.

dnanian
02-25-2008, 06:58 PM
I really don't have a solution for you, 'geeniusatwrok'. This isn't something that's happening here. Are you using our standard "Backup - all files"?

geeniusatwrok
02-26-2008, 06:27 PM
yep, using same old smart update I've been using for ages. here's the schedule:

dnanian
02-26-2008, 06:36 PM
That seems fine. I don't know why TM would stop working with the drive. Maybe send me a log from one of these runs, using "Send to shirt pocket".

dnanian
02-27-2008, 12:18 AM
OK, there's another user who's reporting a similar problem, so let's try to get the same information in-house from you:

Could you provide me with a listing of the "root" directory of this drive, when Time Machine is OK with it, using:

ls -la

in Terminal (that's LS -LA in lower case). Then, run SD! and do the same thing again once TM starts complaining.

Send the results of both to me at the support email address.

geeniusatwrok
02-27-2008, 06:22 PM
You've got mail