PDA

View Full Version : Backups using a NAS from Tiger and Leopard


rglass
02-19-2008, 12:07 PM
I currently manually backup my MacBook Pro by copying directories and files to my ReadyNAS+ NAS device. I am running 10.4.11 and will eventually upgrade to Leopard. I am trying to understand how SuperDuper and Time Machine will work in my environment.

I connect my computer to the network with a gigabit connection whenever I perform backups.

How will SuperDuper work with a large NAS device? How can restores be done when needed? Should I use Time Machine when I eventually upgrade to Leopard?

Is there a document already written up on how to use a NAS with SuperDuper?

dnanian
02-19-2008, 12:37 PM
There is a document: the User's Guide. See "Backing up over a network".

Full restores require the ability to access the network, though, so you'll need *something* you can start up from that has network access (e.g. a Das Boot volume).

reprobate
02-20-2008, 03:25 AM
I'm one of those who bought the Airport Extreme N the day after it came out, then promptly found out that it didn't work with TimeMachine. Guess what? It still doesn't! However, after much thought and self consolation I've decided that I don't really need TimeMachine. SuperDuper! does just about everything I want it to do and with the exception of the occassional document that gets deleted by mistake, I'll be happy with SD.

Now here's my situation and question. As mentioned I'm using the Airport Extreme N for my wireless router. I'm about to buy a Seagate FreeAgent 750 GB external hard disk so I can use it to back up the iMac G5, my wife's Mac Mini in the kitchen, and my iBook which resides at the other end of the house, as well as us it to store my iTunes library. The iMac, BTW, is connected to the router via ethernet, while the other two macs are wireless.

Now, here's the question: With this setup would you think I'd be better off connecting the external drive to the iMac via Firewire and setting up sharing to allow the other two macs to use it, or would you connect the drive to the Airport Extreme via USB and use it as a network attached storage?

I'm somewhat new to networking and particularly to network storage, so I hope I explained everything clearly enough.

Thanks

dnanian
02-20-2008, 10:57 AM
I think it'll work OK either way, but if connected to a Mac that mac has to be on for things to work. Please also see the "Airport Disks" post at the blog for a discussion of how to set this up...