PDA

View Full Version : 10.5.2 is out.


paulchat
02-11-2008, 05:53 PM
so it looks like 10.5.2 is out. Should we feel confident upgrading knowing SD will work?

paul

dnanian
02-11-2008, 07:34 PM
Yes, SD! works with 10.5.2.

paulchat
02-11-2008, 07:39 PM
Cool. Installing 10.5.2 now. (of course I did a SD backup first)

James
02-11-2008, 08:58 PM
I installed it about 45 minutes ago and I almost threw my Mac at the wall. I was testing to see if an Automator bug was worked out (the one in the "Rename Finder Items" action when using "Make Sequential"). Finder froze and everything on my desktop vanished, It didn't go far as I found it at the root of my user folder but not only has the original bug remained (somewhat), its now even buggier.

I'm definitely not updating my good backup just yet and I'm gonna sort out another disk or volume to backup to until I can be sure of whether Automator or Finder was to blame.

justflybob
02-11-2008, 10:04 PM
Hi Dave,

Quick question, now that 10.5.2 is out.

Any preference as to starting a new backup from scratch, or simply letting Smart Update do it's thing to an existing 10.5.1 cloned drive?

dnanian
02-11-2008, 10:27 PM
I'd just use Smart Update.

justflybob
02-11-2008, 11:08 PM
Super! (as in Duper)

Thanks again.

smoore
02-12-2008, 06:08 PM
I tried installing the update earlier this morning with dire consequences. My MB Pro will no longer boot. Just a grey screen with a blinking folder w/question mark. Here's the problem: I have a backup stored on a firewire drive, but it is a sparse image so I think I need to start up from the OS X install disc BEFORE I can boot from my backup. Correct?

Trouble is, I'm home sick, my Leopard discs are at work, and all I have here is my Tiger discs. I would love to get it up and running, so does anyone have any thoughts? Will starting up from the OS 10.4 discs in order to run Disk Utility work, or am I just asking for trouble? Should I wait until I can make it back into work?

Signed,

Frustrated

dnanian
02-12-2008, 08:54 PM
Correct, and no -- you need to use your Leopard discs. Do NOT do this with Tiger discs.