PDA

View Full Version : Can't make smart update.


MMM
02-07-2008, 05:00 AM
First we would like to congratulate everyone involved with the version 2.5. Job well done ;)

Now for the issue that we're having... Yesterday we did the initial backup of our hard drive. It took over 2 hours but everything seemed to go smoothly. Tested the backup and it is bootable. Today we tried to do a smart update and noticed that the backup drive has been grayed out :( Did something change with this version that prevents smart updates? Nothing else is on the drive except for the SD backup.

dnanian
02-07-2008, 12:21 PM
Are you running from the backup? Check in "About this Mac".

MMM
02-07-2008, 06:12 PM
No it's not from the backup...

dnanian
02-07-2008, 07:16 PM
So, is it just that the entry in the pop-up is grey, or that the entire menu is?

MMM
02-07-2008, 10:43 PM
Just that one disc. It was fine when we made the initial backup, but after that it grayed out :(

dnanian
02-07-2008, 11:15 PM
I'm near positive you're running from it. Try ejecting it.

MMM
02-07-2008, 11:35 PM
We logged into Tiger and then when we logged back into Leopard it seems to have corrected itself. If it happens again we'll try ejecting it, but we already know we're not logged into it (according to Startup Disk).

dnanian
02-07-2008, 11:37 PM
Weird. OK, let me know.