PDA

View Full Version : "Device not configured" ??


blastula
02-01-2008, 08:37 PM
I successfully copied my boot drive a few days ago.
Today I tried to make another copy, and twice the process aborts thusly
(see below):
Can anyone explain this to me (the bottom line), and how i can fix this?
Thanks,
Rob

| 01:27:31 AM | Info | ...ACTION: Preparing Rob's Mac Pro
| 01:27:31 AM | Info | ......COMMAND => Enabling permissions on Rob's Mac Pro
| 01:27:31 AM | Info | Refreshing Disk Arbitration ...
| 01:27:32 AM | Info | ......COMMAND => Verifying that permissions are enabled for Rob's Mac Pro
| 01:27:32 AM | Info | Permissions on '/Volumes/Rob's Mac Pro ' are enabled.
| 01:27:32 AM | Info | ......COMMAND => Verifying that Rob's Mac Pro ACL support matches MAC 1
| 01:27:32 AM | Info | ...ACTION: Preserving Spotlight state on Rob's Mac Pro
| 01:27:32 AM | Info | ......COMMAND => Disabling Spotlight search indexing on Rob's Mac Pro
| 01:27:32 AM | Info | PHASE: 2. Copy Files
| 01:27:32 AM | Info | ...ACTION: Copying files from MAC 1 to Rob's Mac Pro using Smart Update
| 01:27:32 AM | Info | ......COMMAND => Cloning MAC 1 to Rob's Mac Pro
| 01:27:32 AM | Info | Copying copy files with delete using script: /Users/rob/Library/Application Support/SuperDuper!/Copy Scripts/Ignore x Storage.dset
| 01:27:32 AM | Info | Loading 1 commands from copy script /Users/rob/Library/Application Support/SuperDuper!/Copy Scripts/Ignore x Storage.dset
| 01:27:32 AM | Info | /
| 01:27:35 AM | Info | /System
| 01:31:15 AM | Info | WARNING: Caught I/O exception(5): Input/output error
| 01:31:15 AM | Info | WARNING: Source: /System/Library/Frameworks/AppKit.framework/Versions/C/AppKit, lstat(): 0
| 01:31:15 AM | Info | WARNING: Target: /Volumes/Rob's Mac Pro /System/Library/Frameworks/AppKit.framework/Versions/C/AppKit, lstat(): 0
| 01:31:15 AM | Info | Attempting to copy file using copyfile().
| 01:31:15 AM | Info | Attempting to copy file using ditto.
| 01:31:15 AM | Error | ditto: /Volumes/Rob's Mac Pro /System/Library/Frameworks/AppKit.framework/Versions/C/AppKit: Device not configured

TMay
02-02-2008, 12:04 AM
Rob

Without the top lines of the log I can't be sure, but are you running OS 10.5.n, Leopard? If so, that is probably your problem. Smart Update doesn't function properly under Leopard. Shirt-Pocket is preparing a Leopard update to S/D.

If NOT Leopard, what OS and what Mac?

dnanian
02-02-2008, 11:00 AM
This generally indicates that your destination drive is failing, Rob...