PDA

View Full Version : backup users without erase?


dancingbrook
01-07-2008, 01:17 PM
Another question. Can I just "Backup - Users" to a 2nd external drive (as a safety net) without it erasing existing files on the 2nd external (some of which have nothing to do with user files)? It seems I can via my understanding of the directions, but I want to be sure.

dnanian
01-07-2008, 01:21 PM
Only if you use "Copy Newer", "Copy Different" or an image. Do not use Smart Update or Erase, then copy without using an image as your destination or your destination will be erased.

dancingbrook
01-07-2008, 02:25 PM
Great. That's what I thought, but feel better after confirming.

dancingbrook
01-07-2008, 02:33 PM
Ahh but you didn't tell me I'd have to buy first. Guess that will have to wait for this evening.

dnanian
01-07-2008, 02:43 PM
You don't have to: use an image.