PDA

View Full Version : Not all users copied (actually only one, and not mine)


dancingbrook
01-07-2008, 09:09 AM
Hi,

I am trying the current (2.1.4 (v82) SD and ran a first backup last night using the default settings. All appeared fine but it appears only one user folder was copied, and it wasn't even mine (the only one open).

Any thoughts?

pm/db

(BTW: I'm on 10.4.11 w a 2ghz G5 backing up 167 GB to a Lacie 200 GB d2)

dnanian
01-07-2008, 10:54 AM
Sounds like Finder isn't refreshing (try Control+Options+Clicking its dock icon and choosing "Relaunch"), or something -- Parallels, for example -- has set your Home folder as invisible.

dancingbrook
01-07-2008, 11:06 AM
Sounds like Finder isn't refreshing (try Control+Options+Clicking its dock icon and choosing "Relaunch"), or something -- Parallels, for example -- has set your Home folder as invisible.

That did it. Great. Thanks. And thanks for being on the ball this morning.

I was considering a restart. No Parallels here (G5). BTW: Only 1 of 6 users appeared initially, but all are there now. Any ideas what the "or something" might be? I had something similar happen the other day (after using Silverlining to sync two music folders; no, silver lining wasn't/isn't running).

I'm doing all this in preparation for a switch to leopard, so I'm counting on being able to use Migration Assistant to use the Lacie after I reformat and install Leopard internally. Make sense?

dnanian
01-07-2008, 12:19 PM
The "or something" would be something like Parallels, which has hidden users' home folders in the past. But Finder, given its tendencies to not refresh, was more likely, which is why I offered that up first.

Yes, you can certainly migrate from a "Backup - all files", written to a FireWire drive, in Leopard... but please, please, please test your copy first. And, in general, I'd Upgrade rather than erase -- you can always erase later if you feel the Upgrade wasn't satisfactory.

dancingbrook
01-07-2008, 12:27 PM
Thanks again Dave.

I'm working off the clone right now.

I erase so I can start with more or less a clean slate. I try so much "stuff" my libraries are full of unused stuff. To upgrade means all the old stuff is till there. And I've always found a new user much faster than anything I've been using for more than a month.

Thanks again, and I look forward to the new Leopard version. Should I buy now and get a free upgrade? I have a lot faith, partly because you are taking your time to get it right.

dnanian
01-07-2008, 12:32 PM
Yes, the update will be free.