PDA

View Full Version : How to verify Target after Cloning?


MrBugs
01-05-2008, 05:11 AM
Hi @all,

I'm planning to upgrade my iMacs 250 GB HD with a bigger (1TB) HD.
I currently use MacOS 10.4.11 .

The new HD is attached via an USB to SATA adapter tu my Mac.

That for, I first formatted the new HD with the onboard Mac HD tool
(called Festplattendienstprogram in german MacOS), using the parameters
journaled filesytem, create bootable, GUID as suggested by the tool.
I gave the HD a slightly different name as the original HD. To prevent any
problems arising of having two harddisks with the same name.

After that I started SuperDuper!. Using the standard options as suggested
by the documentation (all files, no repair of permissions as it isnt fully
necessary, erase target then copy. do nothing after completion).

I had to do this twice because I encountered SuperDuper having problems
with a file I had tested myself as defective some weeks ago. (Deleted it
and cleaned the trash bin)

The second SuperDuper run was successful, the SuperDuper Result page
showed no errors or warnings.

The next point from now will be to open the iMac and replace the HDs.

And before this I want to make 100% sure the the target HD is working.

I checked both HDs via Infoscreen and found differences.
The original having 149330 folders, 665609 files and consuming 158.0 GB.
The target having 149263 folders, 665060 files and consuming 150.4 GB.

So how can I verify that there are no necessary files missing?

Thanks very much in advance
MrB

visch1
01-05-2008, 08:03 AM
I'd say first is DON'T delete drive #1 until all seems OK. At the point you're at I'd simply boot with both drives connected and depress OPTION key at start and select the new drive to boot from, check it's operation and proceed from there. By the way I usually have a different # of folders between new and old drives, always worked for me OK though.

dnanian
01-05-2008, 11:11 AM
Agreed that you shouldn't erase anything until you're sure you're OK. Verify the target by renaming it to the same name as the source and then start up from it -- we've never seen a situation where SuperDuper! didn't copy a file it was supposed to without generating an error...