PDA

View Full Version : Disk cloning with Leopard until SuperDuper comes out?


badlydrawnboy
12-13-2007, 04:22 PM
Dave etc.

First, I appreciate that you're taking the time to get SD right.

In the meantime, do you have any suggestions for how to clone a disk using Leopard? I recently installed Leopard on an external FW drive and got everything set up to see how I like it. After a week of ironing out the kinks, I'm ready to migrate that install onto my main internal HD. I normally run a Sandbox on my other internal drive, but I'll just wait until the next version of SD comes out for that.

Do you have any suggestions for how I can clone my external FW to my internal drive? Obviously I can't do it while booted from my internal (Tiger) drive, since that's the one I'm replacing. And I can't use SD booted from my FA drive, because it's running Leopard.

I'm a loyal SD customer and that's not going to change. If you can recommend a way to do this or another program that would help me out temporarily until SD comes out, I'd appreciate it.

dnanian
12-13-2007, 04:30 PM
How about using "Disk Utility" and its "Restore" tab?

badlydrawnboy
12-13-2007, 04:37 PM
How about using "Disk Utility" and its "Restore" tab?

I'm not familiar with that function. Could you elaborate a bit or point me to some info please?

Much appreciated.

timlance
12-13-2007, 04:45 PM
have you read the Help info in Disk Utility? It is very good.

badlydrawnboy
12-13-2007, 05:05 PM
have you read the Help info in Disk Utility? It is very good.

Thank you. I did look at the help files. It mentions copying a disk image to another disk, or copying the contents of a disk to another disk. Nowhere does it say anything about whether such copies will be bootable.

The disk image copy doesn't help me, since I want to clone a full copy of my Leopard install - not a disk image. And as far as I can tell from the Disk Utility instructions, simply copying the contents of the Firewire drive (Leopard install) to the internal drive won't make a bootable copy.

Isn't that why programs like SD & CCC exist?

dnanian
12-13-2007, 05:57 PM
The copy, if done directly to a properly set up drive, should be bootable (and is easy to check)...

timlance
12-13-2007, 06:42 PM
Badlydrawnboy.

The last first. SD & CCC do incremental type back up functions. DU can not.

From DU Help:

Duplicating a disk
You can duplicate one hard disk or volume onto another. For example, you can duplicate a disk that contains photos and movies to send to a friend, or you can duplicate your startup volume to use as a backup.

To duplicate a disk:


Click the disk or volume you want to duplicate and click the Restore tab.


Drag the disk or volume you want to copy to the Source field.

You can drag it from the list at the left or from the Finder.


Drag the disk or volume that will contain the copy to the Destination field.

If you can’t drag a particular disk or volume to that field, you can’t copy to it. If it’s your startup disk or volume, start up your computer with another disk, such as your Mac OS X install disk. Otherwise, try to quit any applications that are on it or that use documents on that disk.


If you want to erase the destination before copying to it, select “Erase destination.” If you want to use the copy as a startup disk, select “Erase destination.”

If you want to add the original’s contents to the destination without erasing it, deselect “Erase destination.”


Click the Restore button.

badlydrawnboy
12-13-2007, 07:42 PM
Thanks. I found this thread over at the Apple Discussions, which describes the process in detail. The author suggests booting from a third source, i.e. the install CD, when using the Restore command to clone a disk.

http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?threadID=121735