PDA

View Full Version : New HDD, Got Tiger on Another HDD - Clone?


sngecko
05-04-2005, 04:34 PM
I've just set up Tiger perfectly on my PBG4 and all settings are as I want them. But I am to receive a new 100GB drive and a Firewire case for this hdd, but I want to clone this drive to the new one. Any ideas? It doesn't seem like Super Duper!'s Safety Clones will do the trick -- I want a full clone of the entire drive. I can't go with CCC because it is not yet compatible with Tiger. Again, any ideas?

SNGecko
PBG4 Ti 1GHz, 1GB RAM, 10.4

dnanian
05-04-2005, 06:12 PM
Sure: just do "Backup - all files"! That'll copy everything except temporary files and VM swap files (etc)... it's exactly what you want.

sjk
05-05-2005, 02:53 AM
I can't go with CCC because it is not yet compatible with Tiger.And I can't imagine anyone going back to using CCC after any "serious" use of SuperDuper! :)

sngecko
05-05-2005, 04:35 AM
Thanks for the help; I look forward to trying it when the hdd gets here. I think I misunderstood "Backup" to mean un-bootable copy; I thought that "Clone" meant bootable copy. Obviously, I was downright wrong.

-SNGecko

dnanian
05-05-2005, 08:34 AM
Well, let's not knock CCC here, guys. It's a good program, and Mike did a lot of pioneering work in this area. He deserves both respect and his success.

dnanian
05-05-2005, 09:01 AM
Nope -- everything that SD! copies is bootable *if* the source selections are bootable (and the device supports booting).

sjk
05-05-2005, 05:59 PM
Sorry, I didn't mean to give the impression of "knocking" CCC. I paid for and used it before SD! and it still serves other people very well.