PDA

View Full Version : Using Leopard and have to clone drive. Any suggestions?


saint3x
12-07-2007, 08:14 PM
Next week Apple is swapping out my 10 week old MacBook (after the failure of 2 logic boards, 1 inverter board and a superdrive!) with a new one.

The problem is that the existing error-prone MacBook runs Leopard and I need to clone its hard drive in order to install it or most of its contents onto the new machine. If I can't use SuperDuper! yet, does anyone have any suggestions. Please?

S

dnanian
12-07-2007, 11:03 PM
I'd just use the migration assistant that'll prompt you to copy from the old mac when you start the new Mac...

saint3x
12-07-2007, 11:59 PM
Unfortunately I'll never have access to both computers. The new one gets handed over when they pick up the old one.

S

dnanian
12-08-2007, 12:01 AM
Well, then, I'd make a full copy of the internal drive use Disk Utility's "Restore" tab or Time Machine...

saint3x
12-08-2007, 12:08 AM
Thank you. I'll try DU's 'Restore' as so far I haven't had a great experience with Time Machine.

S

steveb
12-10-2007, 09:36 AM
Or, when the new one arrives swop the hard drives. Only takes about 5 mins.

saint3x
12-10-2007, 10:10 AM
Nice idea, but…
I'll never have access to both machines at the same time. The old one will be picked up tomorrow and when they've checked it in they'll start the paperwork to send out the new one!

S