PDA

View Full Version : Question regarding backing up to Image


giba
05-02-2005, 04:54 PM
Since I want encryption on my backup, I intend to create an update-able disk image as outlined in this FAQ entry: How do I update an image? (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/showthread.php?t=81) That said, I have several questions regarding this method:

1. Will the resulting disk image be ASR compliant just like the image created by SuperDuper (by selecting "Disk Image" in the destination pop-up)?

2. In the User's Guide, the author mentioned on page 21 some "additional steps" when backing up to an image created by SuperDuper. Namely, it converts the image to read-only -- a process that requires 2X the disk space -- and mark it for fast restore. My question is, do these comments apply when I'm backing up to, or smart updating, a Disk Image I created myself? Or would the process for the latter be just like backing up to a hard disk, except it's it's to a disk image?

3. Is there an easy way to boot from the resulting image for verification without restoring the image to a HD?

4. What is the recommended way for restoring such an image?

Thanks in advance,
Eric

dnanian
05-02-2005, 06:05 PM
To answer:

1. No, it's not ASR compliant, but you can mount it and restore it with Disk Utility as described in section 5 of the user's guide.

2. No, those comments don't apply. A sparse image is just written to, and isn't converted in any way. As you said, it's just like backing up to another disk.

3. No: you can't boot from a virtual disk.

4. With SuperDuper!, if possible. If not, you can follow the steps in section 5, as mentioned above.

Hope that helps!

giba
05-20-2005, 05:59 PM
One last question: will the backup image be restorable to any disk, or just the HD with the same configuration (which is the case for choosing Create a disk image in Options)?

Thanks,
Eric

dnanian
05-20-2005, 06:54 PM
Since it's copied file-by-file, it can be restored to any disk (as can the "Disk Image" selected in the destination pop-up -- the Options checkbox/imaging option is different).