View Full Version : Bootcamp, Parallels & SD

11-07-2007, 08:25 PM
I understand form using my friend the search button that SD will not clone/backup the windows partition. OK. I have both boot camp and parallels installed on my Macbook Pro and I am thinking of getting a larger HDD.
I was thinking about using SD to clone the Mac portion and something like Ghost to clone the Win portion. Install the new drive, restore the Mac portion, and then restore the win portion? I'm guessing a fresh Win reinstall would be required first? Am I asking for trouble here or is it just not feasible?

If not, could I restore the Mac portion and just do a fresh Win install - or will I have issues with parallels seeing a "different" Windows than before?:confused:

Hopefully I am asking this right.

11-07-2007, 11:43 PM
Take a look at this article (http://www.hackszine.com/blog/archive/2007/06/upgrading_the_macbook_hard_dri.html), which should help you make a good copy.

11-08-2007, 04:01 PM
I used WinClone 1.5 when I upgraded my MacBook's hard drive and it worked like a charm. I currently have WinClone 1.6b3 (even though I have no need to clone my Windows XP partition now) and it is maturing into an even better free product. They have support forums and the developer(s?) respond to my email questions within only a few days. Try it out!

11-08-2007, 05:34 PM
Thanks, guys. I upgraded to Leopard to so I will wait for the 2 apps to be updated to work with Leopard before I try anything.