PDA

View Full Version : Cloning a Leopard installation


Gomff
10-28-2007, 07:38 PM
Hi All
I wonder if anyone can clear up a couple of questions I have.

Basically, I have a backed up Tiger installation with Super Duper on it, which I used to create a clone of my new Leopard installation (on my internal hard drive) onto another external drive. I've booted to it and everything seems to be working perfectly....Does anyone know if there's any reason why I shouldn't trust this backup?

I'm about to take my Macbook Pro in to have a new (bigger) hard drive put in and I'd like to avoid the hassle of installing Leopard again, so ideally I expect the process to be:

1) Get laptop back with new blank hard drive
2) Boot to Tiger backup on external drive
3) Clone the Leopard backup onto the new internal blank drive
4) Be happy.

Should this be OK as technically, I'm not running Super Duper in Leopard?

Thanks

Gomff

dnanian
10-29-2007, 12:11 AM
I don't think that's a good idea, Gomff, no. It might work, sure, but I can't promise it will...

Gomff
10-29-2007, 07:01 AM
Hi Dave
Thanks for replying. Hope I'm not being a pain for asking but is there anyway I can check the cloned Leopard for robustness?

I've launched all the applications and tinkered around with it and it all seems fine....Seems this roundabout way could conceivably be a temporary workaround until SD is made 100 % Leopard compatible?

Thanks

Gomff

dnanian
10-29-2007, 10:43 AM
I don't know, Gomff. As I've said, I don't think this is a good idea.