PDA

View Full Version : Scheduling wakeup and sequential backups to different targets


Ricky
10-07-2007, 05:01 PM
Hi Dave,

SuperDuper currently does a daily backup for me as follows:

1) I scheduled my iMac (in System Preferences) to wake from sleep in the wee hours of the morning.

2) About a minute later, SD is set to back-up all files on the internal drive volume using smart update. It backs-up to a volume on an external FW drive. It is a bootable backup.

3) Upon completion of the backup, I've configured SD to quit.

4) After a bit more time, the iMac goes back to sleep


All of the above works like a charm.

Now, onto my question ....

With growing storage needs, I've added a second external FW hard drive (in addition to the external drive I mentioned above).

I will continue to use the internal iMac drive for system, applications and data. I still have a bootable backup scheduled for it as I described above.

But in the new arrangement, a 3rd volume will house additional applications and data, and a 4th volume will be the backup for that 3rd volume. These two do not need to be bootable.

I would like it to now work like this:

1) Wake-up iMac (as it does now)

2) Backup internal volume to its bootable backup volume (as it does now)

3) Progress directly to backing up volume 3 contents to volume 4. This is the new piece that I need help with.

4) Sleep the Mac (as it does now).

In the iMac preferences, I can only schedule the Mac to wake once a night. So, I would like to configure SD to complete its normal nightly backup of the internal volume to volume 2. Then I would like it to continue directly to backing up volume 3 to volume 4.

Can you help? Thanks Dave.

dnanian
10-07-2007, 06:25 PM
Sure. Set the backup for 3 -> 4 for, say, five minutes after the other. It'll run when the first is done.

Ricky
10-07-2007, 07:31 PM
Thanks Dave. That should work if I leave ample time between the two sequences. But, the length of time that it takes for the first sequence to complete varies depending upon how many files have changed, and their size. So, I was hoping for an automatic trigger of the second sequence upon completion of the first sequence. That way, the start of the second sequence would be right-on cue. For instance, there would then be no chance that I might inadvertently schedule the second one to start before the first one has completed.

Is there a way to set this up so that the second would execute on cue from the completion of the first? Is there a script, or other way to achieve that?

dnanian
10-07-2007, 07:35 PM
It already does that. The second one waits until the first one finishes and then starts.

Ricky
10-07-2007, 07:46 PM
Thanks Dave, I didn't know it worked so nicely. Great!

dnanian
10-07-2007, 07:59 PM
Yep. The idea is "it just works". :)