PDA

View Full Version : Should I overwrite my entire backup or modify the original?


doofmaczemy
09-06-2007, 08:05 PM
It's high time i made a second backup, so i thought i would take
the opportunity to learn to do it the right way..
The problem I have is that I have not just made changes within files/documents/folders, etc., but changes to names of files themselves.

Therefore I feel that a complete rewriting of a new backup over the old one is in order.. i am suspicious of what happens when you just make "incremental backups" i think they are called.

That is the extent of my knowledge.
So I'm not s;) ure how to do this but any guidance would be appreciated.

dnanian
09-06-2007, 08:07 PM
I think you can just Smart Update; shouldn't be a problem unless you don't have much free space.

doofmaczemy
09-06-2007, 08:16 PM
lol, well smart or not..

i'm kind of wondering exactly what gets overwritten and what does not..
It's not like i can tell by reading the manual! The manual just tells you how to get it done.

dnanian
09-06-2007, 08:23 PM
Well, it's relatively clear: out of the selected set of files, the ones that aren't where they're supposed to be (whether updated, renamed, added, etc) on the destination are copied there. Those that aren't supposed to be there (because they're not in the set of files being copied from the source) are removed...

doofmaczemy
09-06-2007, 08:42 PM
Yes, but only when performed a certain way...

for example, if i use 'Copy newer and Copy different'
this would never work.... RIGHT?

If i use 'Erase, then Copy', or 'Smart Update', then I shouldn't have a
problem...

You see, I 'm not really sure how I am supposed to just put my faith in 'Smart Copy' because "Smart Copy only only "Copies (or deletes) files and folders as necessary." That's a little vague.

I don't know, does it base it's rewriting strictly on whether or not files belong to the "User" plane of the OS platform?

Because what user takes the time to, or even is aware of, whether or not they are copying saving, compiling files that need to be backed up.. in the 'User' category? not me.
:D
One more thing, does Superduper decide what will be rewriten or not in a Smart Update, depending on file location? I would like to know a bit more..
i 'm not going to blame you if i lose some data... LOL

dnanian
09-06-2007, 11:53 PM
That's right: that's why I said "Smart Update". And, no, it has nothing to do with the "User" plane -- it's the entire volume... perhaps I'm really not sure what you're asking... or maybe you're overcomplicating things.