PDA

View Full Version : User Accounts after Erase & Install


jazzdog
08-25-2007, 11:46 PM
This may be more of a general mac topic than a SuperDuper question...

My Mac Mini's been playing up recently, so I'm planning to Erase & re-Install Tiger. Everything's backed up with SuperDuper. After installation I'll want to selectively restore files for the four user accounts. I think I'll have a better chance of eliminating the problem if I don't restore everything at once.

In order for users to access files in the different accounts do I need to set up the user accounts exactly as they were before - same names, same short names, in the same order...I think I've read this somewhere?

Do I just drag the files from the backup to the appropriate location?

To restore the backed-up files should I be logged in as the user they belong to, or the root user, or can I do it all from an admin account?

thanks

Chris

dnanian
08-26-2007, 12:22 PM
Have you considered migrating from the backup? That's what I'd do...

jazzdog
08-26-2007, 05:54 PM
I was going to migrate from the backup, but I want to be sure of getting rid of the problems I've been having with the mac - it's running very slowly and locking up/crashing at least once a day. It doesn't appear to be a hardware problem - I've tried many things to narrow down what it might be. The last step was an archive & install, but that didn't help, so this time it's erase & install. If I migrate everything back at once I'd be worried that the problems would continue.

dnanian
08-26-2007, 06:28 PM
I'd still try it, you have little to lose.