PDA

View Full Version : Multiuser backup?


dminehart
04-02-2005, 01:20 AM
Our family Mac has 4 users, each with their own login. I have admin rights, while the other three users are just "normal" users. I want to back up the entire boot drive, with all system and user files, to a similarly sized additional internal drive. The idea is to have a mirrored, identical drive, with all duplicated files having permissions identical to their originals, in order that any of us can immediately get back to work (less current day's stuff) in case of a main disk failure.

I could find no mention of whether SuperDuper! is capable of doing this. I tried ChronoSync, and found it seemed to copy mainly (but not entirely, go figure!) my own user folders and files. I.e., it seems that ChronoSync might require that I log on as each user in turn, backing up their files. This is a non-starter for me, and I'm hoping that SuperDuper! will get around it.

dnanian
04-02-2005, 09:55 AM
SuperDuper! is absolutely capable of doing this. It makes a full copy of the drive when "Backup - all files" is used, including all permissions and users.

Note that after you finish, you may think that some files are missing from the destination. This is because the Finder is buggy, and doesn't always show everything when the files have been copied "behind its back". Simply Control-Option-Click on the Finder in the dock, and choose "Relaunch". Once Finder restarts, it'll show all the files on the drive.

Hope that helps!

slboettcher
04-02-2005, 02:25 PM
dminehart: I do this n a number of Macs... at home and work with multiple users and it's been flawless to date.

SB

macfeller
04-03-2005, 09:42 PM
doesn't do bootable backups.

sjk
04-04-2005, 03:10 AM
doesn't do bootable backups.This FAQ entry (http://www.econtechnologies.com/site/Pages/ChronoSync/chrono_faq.html#14) says it's possible but discouraged. It suggests using SuperDuper (minus the '!'' :)) or Carbon Copy Cloner, although the comment about using a cloner and ChronoSync being "far more efficient" than just using a cloner doesn't acknowledge SD!'s fast and efficient Smart Update.

macfeller
04-04-2005, 07:59 PM
thought I did read the FAQ - usually do. Whatever, something got me to wondering and I asked the CS folk and they said no. I asked cause I was sure CS could do bootable cause they charge so much. SD! is the best.