PDA

View Full Version : New hard drive


rosshettel
08-22-2007, 11:22 AM
I recently bought a new 160 GB hard drive for my Macbook to replace my 80 GB one. I've been using SD! to smart backup my entire old drive onto a 150GB external usb drive i have.

After I installed the new laptop hard drive, i booted up using the OS X cds, ran the disk utility, and tried to restore onto the new hard drive, using the image on the USB. Well, it wouldn't let me use the sparseimage.

Is there a simple way to seamlessly clone my old drive onto my new drive using only one computer and a external hard drive?

dnanian
08-22-2007, 11:23 AM
Did you first open the image, and then use the image's volume as the source, rosshettel?

rosshettel
08-22-2007, 11:36 AM
I actually tried doing that, selecting open from the file menu, and that at least got the sparseimage open. But then it still wouldn't let me select that drive for the restore source. I tried dragging it, but it wouldn't go. I'll try again, who knows?

dnanian
08-22-2007, 11:41 AM
Ah -- no, that's a different issue with some Intel DVDs. Please see this post (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/blog/index.php/comments/intel_mac_dvd_disk_utility_problems/) for details and a workaround.

rosshettel
08-22-2007, 11:59 AM
I've never heard of that before. Thank you, that explains a lot. I didn't think it should be that hard. Well, I'll just make a bootable install on my old iPod and do that. Thanks for all your help!