PDA

View Full Version : Any reason ALL my prefs have dissappeared on the clone?


themostbob
08-10-2007, 01:34 PM
I was evaluating SuperDuper yesterday by cloning my startup disk to another and using it instead. After the clone, my prefs---pretty much ALL my prefs---have suddenly stopped being read and I'm left with an unusable machine until I rebuild everything. Heck, I couldn't even login to Yahoo mail on that box - had to shift to the winders box next to it.

Both orig and clone are the same in this problem. Mail is giving me the "Would you like to set up mail?" line, and everything else is similar. The prefs and mail are still there, just evidently not being read. Prefs directory and virtually everything in it is owned by me, perms 600. I can't remember if they should be different, but this sure feels like a permissions foul-up to me. "Fix Permissions" gone bad.

This is not inspiring me with a great deal of confidence.

Bob

dnanian
08-10-2007, 01:39 PM
We don't touch the files on the source except to read them, Bob, so I can't see how your prefs (or other files) could possibly have been changed due to the copy itself... perhaps some other application you were running did this?

(Any "Repair Permissions" done in SD! simply runs Disk Utility to do the repair, and that doesn't touch user files -- just OS and applications that have receipts in /Library/Receipts.)

themostbob
08-10-2007, 08:00 PM
I wonder if it could be FileVault, or as I've seen on some forums, VileFault. Haven't been keeping up with FV users, but it looks to fail pretty harshly sometimes. I'm turning it off currently---I'll see if I can resurrect my prefs.

Bob

dnanian
08-10-2007, 09:01 PM
It's possible, of course... I'm not much of a fan of VileFault.