PDA

View Full Version : can you clone a iPod?


iLLuMiNaTiCa
08-05-2007, 04:01 AM
i was wondering about this, has anyone done it yet?

dnanian
08-05-2007, 08:21 AM
I don't see why it wouldn't work (although protected music would likely not play on the copy), but at the same time I'm not sure why you'd do it.

iLLuMiNaTiCa
08-05-2007, 09:24 AM
I don't see why it wouldn't work (although protected music would likely not play on the copy), but at the same time I'm not sure why you'd do it.

i want to upgrade iPods and dump a back up on to a new bigger one, apples seems to not understand this method.

dnanian
08-05-2007, 09:27 AM
I don't think that'll work... but why not just re-sync the new iPod from iTunes?

iLLuMiNaTiCa
08-05-2007, 10:44 AM
I don't think that'll work... but why not just re-sync the new iPod from iTunes?

I can not copy back files from my old iPod to iTunes, only to the iPod.

And my library on the mac drive is 3 times the size of the iPod, why i need a new larger iPod.

So i want to clone the old one, copy to a bigger iPod, and add the new files.

dnanian
08-05-2007, 10:51 AM
I understand, but since the songs came from iTunes to the iPod, they're still in iTunes and as such can be re-copied to the iPod, along with the new files...

But: I really don't think that you can copy from one iPod to another like this. You can try, of course.