PDA

View Full Version : GUID and sandbox question


migo
07-23-2007, 08:25 AM
Hi,

just got a Lacie FW HD for backing up my iMac. before starting superduper I have some basic questions:
1. do I need to format HD (or partition) to GUID? or just leave it as is. noting is written about this in the user guide and I want to be able to start from this drive if something goes wrong.
2. I read about the Sandbox but still do no understand what it means. if i select the sandbox as my startup drive a; how much space do I need to allocate for it on my EXt HD 2; does that mean my EXT HD will be my primary startup disc?

thanks

Migo

dnanian
07-23-2007, 08:49 AM
Hi, Migo.

Yes, you do have to repartition the drive with GUID or APM, depending on your Mac's CPU type. It's not mentioned in the User's Guide because Disk Utility used to force the issue... but after this SD! came out they changed it...

Your Sandbox's size depends on the size of the files you're not sharing. Try creating one on a partition that's too large to get an idea... and, yes, it would be your primary startup when you determine you need to run from the Sandbox.

migo
07-23-2007, 09:12 AM
thanks for the quicki...
so, in other words I will use sandbox if something goes wrong and I need to start from a deferent startup disc or before I am going to do sothing idiotic should do it first from my sandbox?

dnanian
07-23-2007, 09:27 AM
No, you use Sandbox before you install things that might be risky -- system updates, updates to QuickTime, etc -- so if you have a problem you can easily roll out the update by simply starting back up from your original drive.

migo
07-23-2007, 09:33 AM
that's sounds great but I have a 320 gig drive and left 250 for backup. how can I know if what ever left is enough? if it's only the system folder then I am sure it's enough.

dnanian
07-23-2007, 09:34 AM
Like I said, try creating one. :)