PDA

View Full Version : not booting from external drives?


solofx7
07-19-2007, 09:45 PM
my specs are the following:
OS X 10.4.10
2.4 C2D
2GB ram
I have 2 different external USB drives with Superduper Images that normally boot.
I just got this new computer and just got rid of a 2.33 C2D that died. These 2 machines are nearly identical.
These images would boot from the last gen machine and the internal hard drive could be seen.
On the new machine neither of those scenarios work at all.
The MacBook Pro's hard drive is greyed out in superduper and I cannot get the images to boot at all. It starts to boot then I get the grey power button and forces me into a hard rest.
This happens every single time I try and boot from these images.
Any thoughts? Is there some sort of difference in this new machine that would cause this to happen?

dnanian
07-19-2007, 11:28 PM
The new Macs have a different version of the OS they were shipped with, and can't start up from "older" versions...

solofx7
07-20-2007, 01:04 AM
The new Macs have a different version of the OS they were shipped with, and can't start up from "older" versions...

thanks for the quick response....
a couple more questions then....
does super duper work with Leopard?
and if i run superduper on this "newer" version of the OS X can it boot off os a new image from it?
hmm... also my MacBook Pro 2.33 had 10.4.10 and my new 2.4 one has the same OS X version number and the images were made with that version too, did i miss something there?
also when i had my 2.33 i made an image and had it hooked to my airport extreme, but superduper could not see it, any thoughts?

dnanian
07-20-2007, 09:50 AM
Leopard isn't really done yet, and is changing and under NDA, so we can't really talk about it.

Your new Mac has 10.4.10, but a different build. It should be able to start up a copy of its own OS, yes.

I don't quite understand your AirPort Express question, but see "Backing up over a network" in the User's Guide, as well as the "Airport Disks" post at http://www.shirt-pocket.com/blog.

dave39
07-22-2007, 05:19 AM
I just bought a 320Gb Maxtor One TOuch III and cloned my Mac with Superduper - the clone won't boot. Starting up normally it loads the external drive and everything looks OK. I can clone and boot from another external drive without any problem. Is there some issue with Maxtor External drives that prevents them booting?

I should say I'm using an eMac 700Mhz, OS10.4.10, 1Gb RAM

Dave
:confused:

dnanian
07-22-2007, 10:25 AM
Nothing that I'm aware of, no. At least, nothing specific to the drive. Are you certain the drive is properly partitioned as Apple Partition Map?

solofx7
07-23-2007, 04:37 PM
would there be an issue with making an image with the new machine and booting that?

dnanian
07-23-2007, 04:47 PM
There shouldn't be, no.