PDA

View Full Version : Copying/Cloning HD


deltonfoster
06-21-2007, 06:13 PM
Hello,

This is my first post and I am trying to find my way around the user guide and the FAQ'S pages so forgive me if I ask common questions.

Anyhow, question (1): I am trying to clone my hard drive to my external FW (Maxtor One touch 2/Powerbook 1.67 DL) This is my recording studio HD so I can not loose or damage any existing files. So I selected "Copy Different" as indicated on the FAQ page. I just want to make absolutely sure that this is the right choice. I just lost an entire session the other day due to my lack of knowledge and am trying not to make another mistake.

(2) I would then like to boot up from the clone, erase Macintosh HD, re-install OSX and all apps, then pick and choose later from the clone which files to move back. Is that possible?

P.S.
I have a registered version to hopefully have more flexibility, if that helps any.

Thanks for the help!

-deltonfoster

dnanian
06-21-2007, 06:25 PM
You should read the section of the User's Guide entitled "Storing a backup alongside other files on a destination drive", Delton. That'll tell you that the best choice in your case is a "Sparse Image".

But you can't boot from the copy. You'll need to restore using Disk Utility, as explained in "Recovering from a disaster".

deltonfoster
06-21-2007, 06:34 PM
That saves me some time, I was trying to read through, but I don't really get the lingo yet so it makes it kind of difficult to find the right section. I will start reading from there.


Thanks!