PDA

View Full Version : Bootable Drive


Mycael
06-13-2007, 01:23 PM
Does SuperDuper automatically make a Bootable Drive. Also can someone post instructions to make a bootable drive to a network drive on a PC

Mycael
06-13-2007, 02:21 PM
Does SuperDuper automatically make a Bootable Drive. Also can someone post instructions to make a bootable drive to a network drive on a PC

The option to make boot able after copying in grayed out does this mean I can't do it?

how can i?

dnanian
06-13-2007, 02:46 PM
If you do a "Backup - all files" with Smart Update or Erase, then copy of a drive that has an OS on it and is bootable, the destination is configured as bootable as well.

That doesn't mean you can actually start up from it, though. If it's a USB drive and you're using it on a Power PC Mac, it won't boot. Some FireWire chips don't support startup on an OSX Mac. If the drive is partitioned for Windows, it won't startup. And, if the data isn't written directly to a drive (e.g. a network backup to an image), you can't start up from it.

Of course, if you restore to a supported startup device, the copy will start (even when copied from a device that can't start up).

dnanian
06-13-2007, 03:06 PM
That option is not to "make bootable" but to actually start up from the drive. Sounds like you're using a USB drive with a Power PC Mac, or you're copying to an image.

nnny
06-14-2007, 01:19 AM
[QUOTE=dnanian;12518]If you do a "Backup - all files" with Smart Update or Erase, then copy of a drive that has an OS on it and is bootable, the destination is configured as bootable as well.

"you're using it on a Power PC Mac, it won't boot. Some FireWire chips don't support startup on an OSX Mac."

How do I boot my sparseimage it is in the directory of my external hard drive. I have a ppc mac min and my external HD is a firewire Lacie Mini Mate. I know my computer can recognize my external HD because with techtools I had e-drive installed on the drive and it was recognized by my computer when I started up and held the option key nut, when I execute the same process without the e-drive installed and the sparseimage in the directory my computer does not recognize the sparseimage made from SuperDuper

How can I rectify the problem?

Please Respond

dnanian
06-14-2007, 04:04 AM
You can't boot from an image: it's not a physical drive. See "Recovering from a disaster" in the User's Guide for the technique you'd use to restore.