View Full Version : Using Migration Assistant

04-19-2007, 11:44 AM

I want to use migration assistant to transfer my data from a SuperDuper bootable clone of my iMac G5 (running OSX 10.3) on a Maxtor external drive, to a new Intel Core 2 Duo running OSX 10.4 Tiger. I will not have access to the old computer during the transfer.

Do I simply plug the firewire Maxtor drive into the new computer and run migration assistant, or is there anything else that needs to be done to ensure a proper transfer of all of my data?

Thanks for your help.

04-19-2007, 11:51 AM
Yes, during the first startup it'll prompt you: point it at the backup and you're all set (assuming the backup is written directly to the drive, as it sounds like it is).

04-19-2007, 11:59 AM
Thanks Dave,

Fantastic customer service. SuperDuper is the best, and most trouble free, software product I have ever purchased. I recommend it to every mac owner I know.

Dave R.

04-19-2007, 12:06 PM
Thanks, Dave -- I'm glad you like it.