PDA

View Full Version : Change from "Copy Files To..." to SmartBackup


Art-Dude
04-05-2007, 03:58 AM
Sorry, to interject the query into and existing thread, but I didn't want to open a new thread...my question is very minor. I set up SuperDuper! Backup to "Copy Files to...", because I wanted to keep the original files on the backup, removed those files after the first full back up. I then removed those original from the source...so each subsequent backup. I presume the files I deleted from the source remain on the backup. Now I have made it so that I do note keep the deleted files on the backup. Can I switch to Smart Backup without doing the whole erast and copy all over again?

Second Question: I notice that the Backup drive files copied is 37 gb...my source is only 20 gb...If I try to restore, won't I overfill the source?

Art-Dude
Power Mac G-4, 640 mb Ram,
OWC 60gb Firewire (works fine as a bootable drive)

dnanian
04-05-2007, 09:40 AM
I moved your message into its own thread, Art-Dude: it really didn't have anything to do with the other.

It sounds like you're using "Copy Newer" or "Copy Different" as your "During copy" method. These don't guarantee a bootable copy (because they never delete files from the source), but -- as you've said -- they also don't remove files from the destination, which can be desirable in some situations.

If you switch to Smart Update, it'll make the destination resemble the selections from the source again. This means any files deleted on the source (or not selected) will be removed.

You can't really startup from, and restore, a copy that's not Smart Update or Erase, then copy and expect it to be a "sensible" result because of the fact that no files have been deleted...