PDA

View Full Version : Can't boot from new backup


hairfarm
04-05-2007, 01:26 AM
I'm sure this gets asked often. I just made a backup with Superduper (which I paid for) and I cannot boot to my new backup drive.

I used the option "Backup - All files". I assume that should make a bootable copy, right?

I made a copy to a second internal drive (slave) but now cannot seem to boot from it. I chose the drive in the Startup preference and locked it, but it will only start up from my original drive that was cloned.

I'm running 10.4.9, and am running two Maxtor drives off of a Sonnet internal ATA-133 controller card. I am not running any drives from the built-in motherboard ATA-33 connection.

G4 DP500
10.4.9
Sonnet Tempo ATA-133 controller card.

thanks,

dnanian
04-05-2007, 09:50 AM
Are you sure the new drive is properly partitioned (as Apple Partition Map)?

hairfarm
04-05-2007, 07:31 PM
I think my problem was trying to boot from the slave drive. My Sonnet card has tw ATA connectors internally. Apparently only the two master drives can be bootable according to Sonnet tech support. I was trying to boot from one of the slaves...no dice.

Now that I backed up to a master drive, all seems to be well.

Hairfarm

dnanian
04-05-2007, 07:44 PM
Interesting, and good to know -- it'll be here for others should they run into th same issue. Thanks for the follow-up.