PDA

View Full Version : Backup doubled my data size. Help!


seanm69
03-13-2007, 03:42 PM
I used backup all files and copy different files. I was copying my start up drive system and data 50 gb to an internal 160 gb. Some data was already on the internal 160(40 gb). SD succesfully copied my startup drive data and the 160 drive is now bootable. The problem is:
Somehow SD copied DOUBLE the data. The 50 GB of startup data is now reading as 100GB on the 160 drive.

What did I do wrong. I can't find the double data. I am losing 50 gb of storage.

Thanks.:confused:

dnanian
03-13-2007, 06:18 PM
Try Smart Updating the backup; let's see if that helps.

seanm69
03-13-2007, 06:54 PM
[I]Try Smart Updating the backup; let's see if that helps.
SD says backup-all files using smart update will copy and erase what's needed to make my 160 gb drive identical to my selections from my startup drive. the result will mimic erase the 160, then copy files from my start up.

But I have files on my 160 that are not on the start up that I don't want erased.

Will I lose all files that are not on the start up but are on the 160?

dnanian
03-13-2007, 06:56 PM
I'm not sure I understand. If you copied to the partition, you did so without Smart Update or Erase, then copy? You just "added" the files to the volume?

seanm69
03-13-2007, 06:59 PM
I just added the files to make my 160 a bootable back up of my start up, but I kept existing files like my itunes files there.

dnanian
03-13-2007, 07:15 PM
OK. You really should partition the drive to do that, Sean -- at this point, you can't update your backup and maintain bootability...

seanm69
03-15-2007, 09:11 PM
wiped drive, partitioned and then did backup-all files using erase disk then copy files. Problem solved!:)

Thank you for your prompt help. If only I had known that I needed to create a partition.:o

dnanian
03-15-2007, 09:26 PM
Glad I could help, Sean!