PDA

View Full Version : How to "hide" SD to do initial 10.4.8 backup?


kerasmus
03-12-2007, 06:24 PM
My sister has the 10.4.8 crash problem on a Mac Pro, and apparently has had it for quite some time (I presume since she updated to 10.4.8).

I've read through other threads and understand that if I do a new backup from scratch of 10.4.8 while "hiding" SD, then after that her regular nightly updates using Smart Update will work again.

But after due diligence I can't figure out what is meant by "hiding" SD during the intitial backup.

Please elaborate!

dnanian
03-12-2007, 06:27 PM
To hide SD!, simply press Cmd+H or choose "Hide SuperDuper!" from the SuperDuper! application menu...

kerasmus
03-12-2007, 06:33 PM
Thanks. I'll give it a go.

Shirt Pocket rules!

dnanian
03-12-2007, 06:52 PM
Thanks! Now where's my scepter...

JAC II
03-12-2007, 11:12 PM
So does the Version 2.1.4(82) fix this problem now - do you have to hide SD during backup?

Thanks

John

dnanian
03-12-2007, 11:15 PM
It helps to minimize the problem, but the underlying issue is in the OS, as I've said. As far as we know, it's fixed in 10.4.9. When that's coming out, though, I can't say.

JAC II
03-12-2007, 11:33 PM
Thanks !!!