PDA

View Full Version : Moving an image


forty2
03-09-2007, 12:17 PM
I got a new external drive the other day and wanted to copy the existing images of my two internals from an older external to the new one, and have SD update both sets of images (paranoid, nuh?). I tried to trick it, I suppose, by creating new backups and pointing to the copied and renamed images (the names were grayed but if I clicked them the save dialog would pick up the names). This all seemed to be acceptable to SD, but the backups to the copied images failed with errors relating to permissions (this is on my home machine and I am at work right now so I don't have the log). So I had to let SD make new images on the new drive.

For future reference is there a means to move an image and get SD to deal with it? The UI is a little opaque on such things.

This leads to another related question: how do I reuse an image? It seems that in order to make any preference changes (such as sleep after copy) I need to recreate the backup. Or am I wrong there? I can't seem to change a backup after the fact.

dnanian
03-09-2007, 12:24 PM
Hm. Permission errors? Sounds like the file itself might not have had the right permissions, but it's hard to know for sure without a log or more information.

Anyway, I know the "Disk Image..." picker is a bit confusing when you have an existing image. We didn't want to totally rewrite the panel so it dealt with "pick" and "save", and also didn't want two commands in the pop-up. Probably a matter of being a little stingy with the UI, but this case doesn't come up that often...

You can change things as much as you want and the images should still work... maybe I don't quite understand what you mean. They're really handled just like any other volume.

forty2
03-09-2007, 12:47 PM
You can change things as much as you want and the images should still work... maybe I don't quite understand what you mean. They're really handled just like any other volume.

OK, I was afraid I'd reset the whole works by deleting a backup instance and making a new one. I will try it later. Thanks!

Not sure where the permissions error came from. If you want to see it I can send the log when I get home.

dnanian
03-09-2007, 12:54 PM
That'd be great, thanks. Send to the support email address (preferable with "Send to shirt pocket".