PDA

View Full Version : About to make first BU with SuperDuper


hassiman
01-28-2007, 11:26 PM
Hi,
I just purchased SD and am about to make my first BU. I am using a LaCie 300GB drive that I have partitioned usin MAC extended Journaled and GUID for both partitions. I am going to choose Backup All Files. I was looking for advice for other backup option settings that are available in SuperDuper that I should set before I make my first BU?:confused:

Was it OK to set both partitions to GUID (whatever that is)? Will the all files backup be bootable?:confused:

Thanks for any advice you can lend.:D

dnanian
01-28-2007, 11:33 PM
If it's an Intel Mac, GUID is just fine, yes. Should work well... as far as options, take a look at the User's Guide: it's pretty detailed about what to do!

hassiman
01-29-2007, 01:23 AM
I was wondeing how adviseable it is to use the SD Sandbox method of keeping a backup? I am thinking that I would rather NOT have a sandbox on my LaCie as if I understand correctly with this system you actually boot from your sandbox and I would rather not have my LaCie running continuiously.

I was thinking of keeping the sanbox on a partition on my second internal SATA drive instead. After reading the instructions I am not exactly sure how to set this system up. Does anyone out there use this system... and if so is there a simple way to explaine this to someone who is not well versed in this stuff?:confused:

dnanian
01-29-2007, 01:34 AM
You can certainly create a Sandbox on your SATA drive, no problem... but since I wrote the User's Guide, I might not be the best person to explain the Sandbox to you -- because I already did, there! ;)

hassiman
01-29-2007, 07:46 PM
Dave,

I don't mean to imply that your doc is poorly written...:eek: it is more that case that I am a poor reader of technical manuals! :( I am more visually oriented...

I have printed the PDF and will try to muddle through.

If I make a backup that is bootable can I still use that to restore or must I only use it as a boot volume?

dnanian
01-29-2007, 10:41 PM
No, you can definitely use that to restore if it's a "Backup - all files"...