PDA

View Full Version : Is my screen saver NOT active during backup?


iMick
01-23-2007, 11:36 PM
Forgive me if this is covered somewhere, but I did read the manual (skimmed it) and looked at the forums/FAQs but didn't see it.

I am in the middle of my first backup, and noticed that the screen didn't go to sleep. Is this something that SD disables during it's backup? If so, will it be active again after the backup? I don't really want to go to sleep with the screen burning in, or maybe that's not going to happen anyway?

FWIW, I chose DO NOTHING after completion, because I didn't think it would take more than an hour to do. It's about 40% done with a little over an hour so far.

dnanian
01-24-2007, 12:23 AM
That's right: the screen saver is kept off in the current version of SD.

iMick
01-24-2007, 08:58 AM
That's right: the screen saver is kept off in the current version of SD.

Does it reactivate after the backup?

dnanian
01-24-2007, 11:59 AM
Yes. It's only kept off during the copy.

t3rockhall
01-27-2007, 02:52 PM
That's an interesting question. Now let me throw a curveball. I have an app called "EarthDesk" in my startup folder. It creates a dynamic globe on the desktop. The sun's shadow is updated regularly, so you see the illuminated earth in real time.

What happens if I run SD with this running?? Do I have to remember to shut it off before backing up?

dnanian
01-27-2007, 10:03 PM
No, it's probably fine if you're not getting any errors.

t3rockhall
02-21-2007, 08:12 PM
Follow up:
Well, I tried to use my backup to bring my other iMac up to date -- and it froze on startup. Yes, the Backup. I finally got it all shut down. and rebooted in Safe Mode, removed the startup EarthDesk and it worked, although I still had the desktop image. I changed the desktop image to plain blue, rebooted and now it's all OK.

I think the problem is with the dynamic desktop, but, whatever it is, I no longer keep it as a startup file.

Just FYI.

dnanian
02-21-2007, 08:21 PM
Huh. I don't know why that would cause a problem, but thanks for the info.

klmorin
02-24-2007, 06:34 PM
Forgive me if this is covered somewhere, but I did read the manual (skimmed it) and looked at the forums/FAQs but didn't see it.

I am in the middle of my first backup, and noticed that the screen didn't go to sleep. Is this something that SD disables during it's backup? If so, will it be active again after the backup? I don't really want to go to sleep with the screen burning in, or maybe that's not going to happen anyway?

FWIW, I chose DO NOTHING after completion, because I didn't think it would take more than an hour to do. It's about 40% done with a little over an hour so far.
I don't like too much this idea to keep the screen burning in during the backups. Some backups take sometimes several hours and SD desable the screen saver.
I found a small application (freeware) which makes it possible to cover the screen of a black panel during the backups.

Screenshot Helper 1.1 from katsura shareware
www.katsurashareware.com

dnanian
02-24-2007, 07:23 PM
Stay tuned, klmorin...

jchiar
02-26-2007, 02:31 PM
I was wondering about a built in feature to blank the screen.

wessew
02-28-2007, 04:23 PM
Why not use System Preferences to blank the display after a certain period of time? This function is separate from Screen Saver.

dnanian
02-28-2007, 04:48 PM
Exactly: we just don't suppress it now...

klmorin
02-28-2007, 06:25 PM
This function is not functional either with SD.

dnanian
02-28-2007, 06:38 PM
It is in 2.1.4...

klmorin
02-28-2007, 08:45 PM
Congratulations!

I am staggered ;)