PDA

View Full Version : Step by Step Guide to Dealing with Bug in 10.4.8 with Intel Macs?


Betty Woo
01-01-2007, 09:08 PM
I guess you can add me to the list of Intel iMac 10.4.8 owners who used SD with no problems... for a while :)

First off: SD saved my sanity and the got the start of the New Year off right by allowing me to boot from my external and use Disk Utility and TechTools Deluxe to fix my internal hard drive without too much brow sweat flop and anguish. Bless you, bless you, bless you!!

I only used Disk Utility and TechTools Deluxe from the external but now that I actually want to use Smart Update to make sure I have the most up-to-date copy and grab stuff off the internal drive (you know... in case the Computer Gods get vengeful and somehow try to retaliate), SU starts and quickly crashes.

I'm assuming that it's part of this 10.4.8 bug brouhaha.

Could you please point out or provide a Fix-It In 10-ish Easy Steps Guide to dealing with this? I've read a few threads but the steps seem to slightly change with each topic post and I can't figure out if it's to address the specific topic issue or it's an evolutionary solution to swat that bug.

I LOVE this application, otherwise. The heck with it - I love this application even *with* the bug. Many, many thanks for the hard work.

dnanian
01-01-2007, 09:13 PM
Restart your Mac, Betty, then only start SuperDuper!. Begin the restore/Smart Update and then immediately HIDE SD! (with Cmd+H) while it's working.

Once the restore is done, restart, and you're all set.

Hope that helps, and I'm glad you love SD! :)

Betty Woo
01-01-2007, 09:19 PM
Restart your Mac, Betty, then only start SuperDuper!. Begin the restore/Smart Update and then immediately HIDE SD! (with Cmd+H) while it's working.

Once the restore is done, restart, and you're all set.

Hope that helps, and I'm glad you love SD! :)

FIVE MINUTES? <- why, yes... I am yelling in shock.

It took you all of five minutes to respond?

You are amazing!

Betty Woo
01-01-2007, 10:40 PM
Followed your steps... twice. The application crashes anyhow.

The crash happens right after I choose 'copy'. The procedure window flashes quickly and that's the end of that story.

Whether or not the 'immediately HIDE SD' portion of our procedure is accomplished is hard to guage. Either it *is* hidden and is ineffective or it *isn't* hidden and the crash occurres faster than my quick fingers can press to make it so.

Perhaps there's a way around this? Perhaps simply removing SuperDuper from both hard drives and reinstalling it in the main one first?

dnanian
01-01-2007, 10:49 PM
Instantly? That doesn't make sense. Definitely re-downlaod and install fresh, Betty. You have to be running it from the current startup volume, too...

Betty Woo
01-01-2007, 10:56 PM
'k.

I'll try that... after I finish my dishes while listening to my first Dan Savage podcast <-- how did I *miss* this whole 'podcast' thing until very recently?? :D

Betty Woo
01-02-2007, 11:07 PM
Perhaps one of the reasons the application wasn't working 100% was because I had two browsers, Thunderbird and iTunes open (but not playing) while poor SuperDuper! was trying to copy things? :o

I guess I have those things on so much (iTunes not as much but still) that they've become kind of a constant and I don't even notice them just sitting there in the background, ready to leap up back at my beck and call with a click of a button.

Once I closed them down and ran SuperDuper!, all was well - for the moment. But since I so rarely have them all closed at once, I'm wondering if it may be that iTunes especially is loathed by SD or by some weird happenstance, the last time I ran SD all the applications were closed.

Maybe in light of the panic I was feeling when my hard drive started acting weird, applications that were rock stable started to crash and I was looking at SD to save my sanity (and files).

It really did both, btw :)

I'll have to try to remember to shut down everthing before automatically running SD... .

dnanian
01-02-2007, 11:40 PM
At least the first time, yes. But subsequent Smart Updates shouldn't require anything that radical.