PDA

View Full Version : Image sparse


centurion
12-23-2006, 01:17 PM
Hi all

I am new to this backup solution and wondering if you can help me
with something.

I backed up my macbook with superduper and used sparse image option.
Everything went well with out any errors. Just to be on the safe side I decided to test backup and see if it does what it says that it does.

So I tried to boot with it with my LaCie drive (firewire) and it wasnīt
possible, and after that I used osx boot cd -->disk utilities and tried to copy it to my hard drive.
But that also wasnīt possible.

Here is what I did:
I know that I need to go to file image - open image and choose my
user-backup1.sparseimage and mount it. After that I can see it and I can see whats inside but
I just canīt copy it to my hard drive. I choose my hard drive and restore menu (in disk utilities)
and from : user-backup1 but "to" was greyed out as well as RESTORE button.
It seams to me that it was not possible to do it after all or was it?

Since I am noob to all this I would really appreciate some help on this subject !
Thank you

dnanian
12-23-2006, 02:23 PM
Did you drag the image volume into the source box in Disk Utility, and the destination drive into the destination?

centurion
12-23-2006, 04:08 PM
Yes I did ...but it couldn't be done. What can I else do to make sure that I am not missing something? Anything ?

dnanian
12-23-2006, 04:10 PM
OK: so you're running on an Intel Mac with the Intel DVD. See this blog post (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/blog/index.php/comments/intel_mac_dvd_disk_utility_problems/) for a description and workaround.

centurion
12-23-2006, 04:20 PM
Fantastic ..thanks man...gonna try with command line very soon...