PDA

View Full Version : Quick cloning question


Timmy
12-04-2006, 08:58 PM
Hi,

I use SD! regularly for my back-up needs and it always seems to work well for me.

My question isn't necessarily specific to SD! but I hope you can address it, nevertheless.

I have installed a fresh copy of 10.4.8 on an external FW volume and I am in the process of re-installing my other apps and files onto it (while booted from it.)

Once it is configured to my liking, I plan to clone the newly configured FW volume onto my PowerBook as my start-up volume.

My question is, what method should I use to clone the FW volume onto the PowerBook? So far I have come-up with the following possibilities:

A) Start-up from the external FW and use the copy of SD! installed on it to do an 'Erase/Copy' from the FW to PowerBook.

B) Start-up from the external FW and use DiskUtility to erase the PowerBook volume and then use the 'Restore' function of DiskUtility to copy the FW volume to the PowerBook.

C) Start-up from my 10.4.3 Tiger Install DVD and use DiskUtility to erase the PowerBook volume and then use the "Restore' function of DiskUtility to copy the FW volume to the PowerBook.

D) Or I should stop thinking so hard and just pick one... ;)

Thanks for any insights.

dnanian
12-04-2006, 09:03 PM
In the end, just pick one. :)

Timmy
12-04-2006, 09:13 PM
In the end, just pick one. :)

:eek: :eek: :eek:

Timmy
12-04-2006, 10:10 PM
Seriously, any suggestions for making sure this goes smoothly?

Or, is my scenario essentially a garden variety 'restore' as described on page 27 of the SD! manual...?

dnanian
12-04-2006, 10:11 PM
That's all it is, Timmy. Pretty basic stuff...

Cintra
12-10-2006, 03:06 PM
My experience with a new iMac is that b) would be much faster, followed by Smart copying from there on in..

mvh