PDA

View Full Version : backup always freeze at 8.70gb!!!!


worldfar
11-23-2006, 10:29 AM
i have a firewire enclosure with the WestDigit 320GB IDE, I have partition it with 3 partitions: 80GB HFS+ for my MB bootable backup. and 20Gb FAT32 for WinXP and the left for HFS+ for storage.

i always used the external harddisk with the 1394 connected. And i want to copy the OSX 10.4.8 from the external to the internal harddisk. so i boot from the external and start the SD, choose the back all files and smart update the superduper freeze at the copying files and the external harddisk light always showing it is reading , and always stock at the 8.70gb files copyed. Even i try to back the firewire System to the other Partition of my external as a disk image it still freeze at 8.70GB. what can i do? Baddly , my internal disk cant boot any more when i forece restart the MB when the SD freeze.
Any ideas about that??

thanks a lot for reading this:)

dnanian
11-23-2006, 10:40 AM
Freezes, eh? Is it locking up the Mac, or is it just taking a long time? If the latter, it's probably copying a large drive. If the Mac is locking up, it's likely your drive is having trouble and might need to be zeroed...

worldfar
11-23-2006, 10:57 AM
freeze: i mean that the SD is panic and the time showed at the right coner of SD is stopped. and i CPU useage is always 0. and the external harddisk is always showing reading- red led light!

and what's the "locking up " ?? and backup about 40GB files with SD always take how much time??

thank you fast reply:)

dnanian
11-23-2006, 11:04 AM
Um, I don't think that's "panicked", actually -- a kernel panic is much different. But your system certainly seems locked up.

So -- the drive is definitely having trouble. You'll want to zero the whole thing and repartition, which might be difficult given that you have a lot of data on there... do you have any other devices attached to FireWire or USB?

worldfar
11-24-2006, 06:44 AM
can i reinstall the internal disk and reinstall tiger, and then use the transimition assistance in the Application folder to get the personal backup? and which driver you mean needs to be zeroed? external or the internal?

dnanian
11-24-2006, 10:09 AM
First, I'd try erasing and zeroing the external drive, worldfar. Don't touch the internal until you have to...