PDA

View Full Version : Backing up with a shutted down computer


titib
09-23-2006, 10:05 AM
Hello,

I'm dowing my backups during the night. So, I must to leave my computer on all night long.
In the User's guide, I've found a solution:

SuperDuper! does not have to be running for a schedule backup to
take place, but the user who scheduled it does have to be logged in,
with their account in front (if Fast User Switching is active), and the
screen must be unlocked.
If your Macintosh is asleep when the time comes to run the backup,
SuperDuper!’s scheduling won’t wake it up, so the backup won’t run.
The way to handle this is to use the Energy Saver Preference Pane in
System Preferences to schedule a wake (or “start up”) event for a
minute before the backup is scheduled to run.

The problem is the next one: I've got many users on this computer, then, when my mac wake it up, I have to entry my login and password (but I can't - because I'm alseep :p), and then, SuperDuper can't do the backup...

Do you have a solution?

Thank's.

titib.

dnanian
09-23-2006, 10:23 AM
The solution is to leave the user the backups are scheduled under logged in. If you'd like, you can use a password protected screen saver, but that account needs to be in front.

titib
09-23-2006, 01:18 PM
In other words, my computer will never be shut down? That's really disturbing but especially really stupid... :(

dnanian
09-23-2006, 01:34 PM
Well, you can certainly put the machine to sleep, titib: that's less stressful on your Mac anyway. But, if that doesn't work for you, have the "On successful completion" action shut your computer off. Then, it'll shut down after the backup is complete, and everyone's happy.

titib
09-23-2006, 02:21 PM
thanks for the trip, I'll use it :)

gleem
11-17-2006, 12:51 PM
If you'd like, you can use a password protected screen saver, but that account needs to be in front.

If using the password protected screen saver option, is it still necessary to schedule a wake event?

Thanks,
Kevin

dnanian
11-17-2006, 01:19 PM
If the machine might be asleep when the time comes to run the backup, yes.