PDA

View Full Version : Unmount External Server


sfatula
09-06-2006, 01:57 AM
We have a Server in the office that all Macs back up to, a volume on the server. SD correctly automagically connects to that server, using AFP, and, then mounts the image and smartupdates it. When the scheduled backup is done, it then un mounts the image file, BUT, leaves the external server connected.

This means, when that server is rebooted, shut down at night, etc., machines may be still connected and this causes some issues.

We want SD to drop that connection to the server, not just the image file.

What's the best way to accomplish this?

dnanian
09-06-2006, 10:27 AM
Hi, Steve. The way to do this is to edit the "schedule" script driver. To do so, navigate to Library/Application Support/SuperDuper!/Scheduled Copies, and control-click the settings package for the backup.

Choose "Show Package Contents". Then, open the Copy Job.applescript file there.

Add the command to eject the drive at the top, in the block for after successful copies. You'd use something like:

tell application "Finder" to eject "the-afp-volume-name"

Save the script file. Then, open SD! and switch to the scheduled copy window. Edit the scheduled entry, uncheck and re-check the checkbox, and save -- that'll recompile the script, and you're all set.

Hope that helps!

sfatula
09-14-2006, 12:18 AM
Ok, now another odd issue. Have purchased several copies of Superduper for different machines. On two "servers", backups work great. On my Macbook PRO, it works, but, when the backup schedule starts, it asks me for my keychain password. Details on that form show login.keychain, and, application afp_mount. I have re-created the backup, deleted the schedule, created the backup with the volume I need to mount un-mounted, etc., all with the same result, the scheduled backup always asks for the keychain password. yet, the other 2 machines do not.

What am I doing wrong?

sfatula
09-14-2006, 12:29 AM
Perhaps what I am doing wrong is locking the keychain for inactivity on the Macbook.... I noticed the other machines do not lock the keychain when inactive. Not sure if this is good or not, but, I suppose you are going to tell me the keychain *must* be unlocked of course for a scheduled backup to work to an image file located on a drive attached to a different machine on the network...

dnanian
09-14-2006, 12:47 AM
That would be the problem, Steve: we need to access the keychain to mount the network drive. If it's locked, we can't access it.