PDA

View Full Version : Dealing with corrupt source


chimpybits
12-06-2004, 03:58 AM
Hello I have a drive (with 10.3 and 9.22) that has serious trouble mounting. It appears that the disk driver is missing and cannot be installed due to a corrupt partition map. I've just managed to force it to mount and want to attempt a clone to another (destination) drive then an erase and repartition of the source drive then a clone back. Obviously I dont want to clone the corrupt partiton map. Any advice ??

dnanian
12-06-2004, 08:52 AM
SuperDuper! operates at the file level, not the disk level, so the partition mop will not be copied... you should be all set.

chimpybits
12-08-2004, 02:48 PM
Thanks Dave. Worked perfectly. The drive (with 3 partitions is back in with all data and operationality intact). SuperDuper in this way is therefore part of a disk repair procedure. btw the only way that I could manage to mount this drive (prior to working with SuperDuper) was to put in firewire target disk mode. not sure why this worked. Norton, FWB, DiskWarrior, and TechTool couldn't mount it.

dnanian
12-08-2004, 09:08 PM
Terrific, and congratulations!