PDA

View Full Version : Booting up from clone on new Macs


Starburst
08-31-2006, 08:42 PM
Hi there. I've got a MacBook Pro at work, with a SuperDuper clone of my hard drive on an external OWC drive. (back up works great, by the way.) I know that I can't boot up from the clone on my personal PowerBook G4. I'm going to upgrade to an Intel MacBook. Question -- will I be able to boot up from my external drive on the laptops Apple will introduce with the new Intel chip? Or do I need to get one of the current MacBooks in order for my stuff to be compatible.

Thank you.

dnanian
08-31-2006, 10:30 PM
The rules are going to be the same as they are for Power PC Macs. If the version of the OS was released after the Mac you're trying to start, it should work fine.

Starburst
09-01-2006, 08:34 PM
Thanks! New chip it is.

dnanian
09-02-2006, 01:22 AM
Enjoy the new Mac(s)!