PDA

View Full Version : Starting over


badlydrawnboy
07-15-2006, 05:37 PM
Hello,

I have a sandbox running on my 74GB Raptor boot drive, and the normal volume is on an internal 400GB drive. My system has gradually been falling apart, and it's time to do a complete reinstall. Too many small, seemingly unrelated glitches to track down.

So I just want to make sure I set it up correctly again. Would I wipe out both drives, then reinstall OS X on the 400GB drive, update, etc. and then create a sandbox from that fresh install on the 74GB boot drive?

Also, has anyone else out there had trouble with the sandbox configuration? I've had some really bizarre issues, particularly with the Energy Saver control panel, that don't respond to normal troubleshooting steps. I've been using Macs for 20 years, so I'm not exactly a novice. But I wondered if the problems could be related to the way I've set up my drives (i.e. using a sandbox). Are there any known issues to be aware of?

Thanks for your help,
Chris

dnanian
07-15-2006, 06:52 PM
Hi, Chris.

I wouldn't destroy your base system. Instead, why not simply archive-and-install?

I've been using a Sandbox for many years, as you might expect, without any bizarre issues... Energy Saver is just controlled by a simple plist, so I don't know why it would be impacted.

badlydrawnboy
07-15-2006, 10:58 PM
Hi, Chris.

I wouldn't destroy your base system. Instead, why not simply archive-and-install?

I've been using a Sandbox for many years, as you might expect, without any bizarre issues... Energy Saver is just controlled by a simple plist, so I don't know why it would be impacted.

Dave,

I guess I could try archiving & installing first. If I do that, would I then "Smart Update" the sandbox from the base system after I've archived & installed?

Thanks,
Chris

dnanian
07-15-2006, 10:59 PM
Yep, updating a sandbox is just like creating it: just use Smart Update and the appropriate Sandbox script.

badlydrawnboy
07-15-2006, 11:03 PM
thanks again dave. quick question: what do you mean by the appropriate sandbox script? i'm assuming i'd use "backup all files" and then "smart update during copy".

dnanian
07-15-2006, 11:10 PM
Well, if the intention is to make a Sandbox, you'd use "Sandbox - shared users and applications", most likely. If the intention is to copy all files, that's not a Sandbox...

badlydrawnboy
07-15-2006, 11:16 PM
duh... right, my brain lapsed. thanks for your quick replies. much appreciated. chris