PDA

View Full Version : Can't restore from sparse image when booting from install disc


rdlsmith
06-25-2006, 03:40 PM
I have a new iMac. First order of business is to make sure I can backup and restore the machine. Otherwise, it's useless to me.

The reason I'd want to use sparse is because I can password protect the image file and more importantly, keep serveral versions of backups and keep them on the same drive.

Versioning is very important. If I delete an important file and then backup, it's gone forever if I only have one volume to backup to.

In the instructions for SD, it states that if you can't boot from the restore drive:

boot from the install disc, start the Disk Utility,

Open the image,

select the drive you want to restore to and select restore,

follow the instructions.

(See page 27 and 28 of their User's Guide.pdf.)

I can do all of that until it comes time to select the source and destination. I can't click and drag the image over and browsing to them just shows me grayed out images that can't be selected.

I can, however, do all of that if I'm not booting from the install discs. But then I'm booting from the HD and I don't think I can restore to the drive I'm booting on.

Kind of a catch 22.

Are there any other options? Does the whole MAC world settle for just one backup?

Maybe I should use two drives? One for the clone and one to do everything else? That would be expensive.

Thanks for any help.

dnanian
06-25-2006, 04:16 PM
Alas, this is a bug in the Intel Mac copy of Disk Utility that's on the DVD. Here's (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/blog/index.php/comments/intel_mac_dvd_disk_utility_problems/) a discussion of the problem, and you'll find a solution in the comments.

rdlsmith
06-25-2006, 07:08 PM
Alas, this is a bug in the Intel Mac copy of Disk Utility that's on the DVD. Here's (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/blog/index.php/comments/intel_mac_dvd_disk_utility_problems/) a discussion of the problem, and you'll find a solution in the comments.


I've been goofing with this all weekend!

I'm new to the MAC and have no idea how to use Terminal to do what the article you mentioned is suggesting. Can you give an example?

Doing a read only may have worked. Still testing. I was able to copy back to the boot drive but I was booted at the time. I couldn't restart without pulling the plug but things did come back. Not exactly a warm and fuzzy feeling is it?

Here's what I'd like to do, open termainal after booting from the install discs.

Attach to my firewire, locate the image, readonly, sparse, whatever? and then have it recreate my Mac's HD from the fireware image source.

Thanks for any help.

I'm going to try again with the read only thing.

dnanian
06-25-2006, 10:26 PM
It's unfortunate that the Disk Utility on the DVD has a bug. What I'd suggest, to make it as easy as possible, is to back up directly to the destination, rather than using images. That way, you can start from the backup, and then restoration is easy...

rdlsmith
06-26-2006, 08:29 PM
It's unfortunate that the Disk Utility on the DVD has a bug. What I'd suggest, to make it as easy as possible, is to back up directly to the destination, rather than using images. That way, you can start from the backup, and then restoration is easy...


I did that with Super Duper. Worked great but I had to know to partition the drive to allow for booting. Once I got passed that it worked.

Thanks

dnanian
06-26-2006, 08:43 PM
Ah, yes, that's a new "feature" of Disk Utility: it lets you partition HFS+ without using APM, so you can get into a situation where your partitioning scheme is not supported by your Mac. A bit frustrating...